Skip to content


The Federal Skilled Trades Program is for skilled  trades people who want to immigrate to Canada. The program is designed to help address Canada’s shortage of skilled trades workers by attracting individuals with the necessary experience and qualifications to work in specific trades.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for the Federal Skilled Trades Program, applicants must meet the following requirements


1.Work Experience:

Have at least two years of full-time work experience (or an equivalent amount of part-time work experience) in a skilled trade within the last five years.

  • your work experience must be for paid work (paid wages or earned commission—volunteer work or unpaid internships don’t count)

  •  The work experience must be in one of the eligible skilled trades listed in the National Occupational Classification (NOC).

  • 4.Job Offer or Certificate of Qualification: Applicants must have either a valid job offer from a Canadian employer for at least one year OR a certificate of qualification in their skilled trade issued by a Canadian province or territory.

  • Skilled work experience

    Skilled trades for the Federal Skilled Trades Program are organized under these groups of the National Occupational Classification (NOC):

    • Major Group 72, technical trades and transportation officers and controllers

      • excluding Sub-Major Group 726, transportation officers and controllers

    • Major Group 73, general trades

    • Major Group 82, supervisors in natural resources, agriculture and related production

    • Major Group 83, occupations in natural resources and related production

    • Major Group 92, processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors, and utilities operators and controllers

    • Major Group 93, central control and process operators and aircraft assembly assemblers and inspectors, excluding Sub-Major Group 932, aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors

    • Minor Group 6320, cooks, butchers and bakers

    • Unit Group 62200, chefs

    You must show that you performed the duties set out in the lead statement of the occupational description in the NOC. This includes all the essential duties and most of the main duties listed.

    If you don’t show that your experience meets the description in the NOC, your application will be refused.

2.Language Skills:

Demonstrate proficiency in either English or French by taking a language test recognized by the Canadian government.

Federal Skilled Trades Program



Minimum level


Speaking and listening



Reading and writing



Speaking and listening



Reading and writing



3. Education: There are no specific education requirements for the Federal Skilled Trades Program. However,

  • If you went to school in Canada, you can get points for a certificate, diploma or degree from a Canadian:

    • secondary institution (high school) or

    • post-secondary institution


  • If you have foreign education, you can get points for a completed educated credential if you have an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) report for immigration purposes from a designated organization showing that your education is equal to a completed certificate, diploma or degree from a Canadian:

    • secondary institution (high school) or

    • post-secondary institution